altJudge William H. Mills (at left) was sworn-in as judge of the State Court of Early County on September 9 by Gov. Nathan Deal. Judge Mills fills the vacancy created by the elevation of Judge Thomas Baxley to the Superior Court bench.

  • Gov. Nathan Deal named several judges and others to the Juvenile Justice State Advisory Group on September 7. The appointments included:

Chief Judge Steve Teske, Juvenile Court of Clayton County;
Presiding Judge LeRoy Burke, Juvenile Court of Chatham County;
Nicole Berger, Prevention Educator, Georgia Center for Child Advocacy;
Jay Sanders, Deputy Director, Governor’s Office of Transition, Support and Reentry;
Tim Burkhalter, Floyd County Sheriff;
Adolphus Graves, Chief Juvenile Probation Officer, Fulton County Juvenile Court;
Joe Vignati, Deputy Commissioner, Division of Community Services for the Department of Juvenile Justice;
Melissa Carter, Director of the Barton Child Law and Policy Center at Emory University Law School;
Polly McKinney, Advocacy Director, Voices for Georgia’s Children;
Lisa Kinchen, Publisher/Editor, Southern Journal Magazine;
Ryan Newallo, Fayette County High School student;
Alexis James, Sandy Creek High School student;
Emily White, senior, Georgia College and State University.

• On October 16, Gov. Nathan Deal appointed Tracy J. “TJ” BeMent, 10th District Court Administrator to the Criminal Justice Reform Council.

• On October 29, Gov. Nathan Deal announced three new appointments to the Court of Appeals of Georgia:

Judge Amanda H. Mercier, Superior Court, Appalachian Judicial Circuit;
Nels S.D. Peterson, Vice Chancellor for legal affairs and secretary to the Board of Regents;
Brian M. Rickman,
District Attorney, Moutnain Judicial Circuit.

See "Meet New Court of Appeals Judges" article.

Contact AOC

Administrative Office of the Courts 244 Washington Street, SW Suite 300 Atlanta, GA  30334

Pop Quiz

In 2002, Judge Ben Studdard competed on Jeopardy! Can you answer the Final Jeopardy question he couldn't?

Category: U.S. Stamps.

Clue: In late October, 2001, Tony Curtis and Lance Burton unveiled the new stamp honoring this person.

Find the answer on our Facebook and Twitter accounts: @GACourts!


Let us know what you think about the Georgia Courts Journal. Send your feedback, corrections, suggestions, and submissions to

Social Media

Follow the AOC on Facebook! Like us at today.

Receive Tweets from the AOC! Follow us at