• The Superior Court Judges of the Cobb Judicial Circuit selected Judge Joyette Holmes to serve as the Chief Magistrate in Cobb County. Judge Holmes was sworn-in on Friday, March 13, 2015 and will serve the remainder of the unexpired term of Judge Frank Cox who resigned in February. 
• Judge Cassandra Kirk was appointed as Chief Magistrate in Fulton County by Gov. Nathan Deal.  Prior to her appointment, Judge Kirk served as a juvenile court judge for Fulton County.
• Judge Renata Turner joined the Juvenile Court of Fulton County after appointment as an associate juvenile court judge in March 2015.
Judge Janis Gordon, State Court of DeKalb County, was named to a five-year term on the Georgia Office of Bar Admission’s Board to Determine Fitness of Bar Applicants.
•  On April 10, 2015, Gov. Nathan Deal appointed Judge Trent Brown, Superior Courts, Ocmulgee Judicial Circuit, to the Board of Trustees of the Judicial Retirement System.

Ms. Jennifer Thomas was named Executive Director of the Georgia Commission on Family Violence (GCFV) on May 1, 2015.  Ms. Thomas previously served as Program Manager, and more recently as Interim Director for GCFV.

• Gov. Nathan Deal appointed Judge Patricia P. Stone as Senior Judge of the Juvenile Court on April 29, 2015.

Contact AOC

Administrative Office of the Courts 244 Washington Street, SW Suite 300 Atlanta, GA  30334



Let us know what you think about the Georgia Courts Journal. Send your feedback, corrections, suggestions, and submissions to

Social Media

Follow the AOC on Facebook! Like us at today.

Receive Tweets from the AOC! Follow us at