18th Annual Justice Robert Benham Awards for Community Service

The 18th Annual Justice Robert Benham Awards for Community Service were presented on Tuesday, Feb. 28. Since 1998, these awards have been presented to honor lawyers and judges in Georgia who have made significant contributions to their communities and demonstrate the positive contributions of members of the Bar beyond their legal or official work. 

This year, the Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to:  Judge Horace J. Johnson Jr., Superior Courts, Alcovy Judicial Circuit, of Covington; former Judge Neal W. Dickert of Hull Barrett P.C. in Augusta; and Former State Sen. Leroy R. Johnson of Atlanta.

The Lifetime Achievement Award is reserved for a lawyer or judge who has demonstrated an extraordinarily long and distinguished commitment to volunteer participation in the community throughout his or her legal career.

Awards are given to selected attorneys in the judicial districts of Georgia from which nominations were received. This year’s other recipients are: Denise M. Cooper of the Savannah City Attorney’s Office; Karen Baynes-Dunning of Albany; Erikka B. Williams of Bonaire, with the Houston Judicial Circuit District Attorney’s Office; Dawn M. Jones of the Firm of Dawn M. Jones LLC in Atlanta; Jeffrey Y. Lewis of Arnall Golden Gregory LLP in Atlanta; W. Scott Sorrels of Sutherland Asbill & Brennan LLP in Atlanta; and J. Virgil Costley Jr. of Georgia

Contact AOC

Administrative Office of the Courts 244 Washington Street, SW Suite 300 Atlanta, GA  30334

Pop Quiz

In 2002, Judge Ben Studdard competed on Jeopardy! Can you answer the Final Jeopardy question he couldn't?

Category: U.S. Stamps.

Clue: In late October, 2001, Tony Curtis and Lance Burton unveiled the new stamp honoring this person.

Find the answer on our Facebook and Twitter accounts: @GACourts!


Let us know what you think about the Georgia Courts Journal. Send your feedback, corrections, suggestions, and submissions to Information@georgiacourts.gov

Social Media

Follow the AOC on Facebook! Like us at www.facebook.com/GACourts today.

Receive Tweets from the AOC! Follow us at twitter.com/GACourts.