2018 Election Results

This year’s primary was held on May 22, 2018. Runoff elections were held on July 22. This year, there were one Supreme Court seat, one Court of Appeals seat, seven open superior court seats, four contested superior court seats, two open state courts seats, two contested state court seats  as well as several chief magistrate seats determined by election.  Below are the results of those contests:



Circuit or county (seat)

Elected first term

Retained seat



Supreme Court

(Hunstein) John J. Ellington


Court of Appeals

(Ellington) Ken Hodges


Superior Open Seats

Atlanta (Campbell) - Kevin Farmer

Blue Ridge (Harris) - Tony Baker

Gwinnett (Turner) - Tracie Cason

Gwinnett (T. Davis) - Tracey Mason

Pataula (Bishop) - Henry Balkom

Rome (Colston) - Kay Ann Wetherington

Stone Mountain (Coursey) - LaTisha Dear-Jackson


Superior Contested Seats

Lookout Mountain (Van Pelt) - Ralph VanPelt

Stone Mountain (Johnson) – Courtney Johnson

Western (Quick) – Lisa Lott

Western (Norris) – Eric Norris


State Open Seats

Gwinnett (Iannazzone) - R. C. LEARY

Henry (Harper) - David B. Brown


State Contested Seats

Forsyth (Abernathy-Maddox) – Abernathy-Maddox

Richmond (Hunter) - Monique Walker


Civil/Magistrate Macon-Bibb County

(Randall) – Pam White-Colbert


Chief Magistrate

Fulton (Kirk) – Cassandra Kirk



Contact AOC

Administrative Office of the Courts 244 Washington Street, SW Suite 300 Atlanta, GA  30334

Pop Quiz

In 2002, Judge Ben Studdard competed on Jeopardy! Can you answer the Final Jeopardy question he couldn't?

Category: U.S. Stamps.

Clue: In late October, 2001, Tony Curtis and Lance Burton unveiled the new stamp honoring this person.

Find the answer on our Facebook and Twitter accounts: @GACourts!


Let us know what you think about the Georgia Courts Journal. Send your feedback, corrections, suggestions, and submissions to Information@georgiacourts.gov

Social Media

Follow the AOC on Facebook! Like us at www.facebook.com/GACourts today.

Receive Tweets from the AOC! Follow us at twitter.com/GACourts.