• On January 7, 2014, Gov. Nathan Deal administered the oath of office to three Columbus-area attorneys.  Judge Ron Mullins and Judge Maureen Gottfried joined the bench of the Chattahoochee Judicial Circuit superior court.  Judge Mullins fills the vacancy created by the retirement of Judge John Allen, while Judge Gottfried was elevated from the State Court of Muscogee County to fill a position that was created by the General Assembly.  Judge Benjamin S. Richardson joined the bench of the State Court of Muscogee County.  Judge Richardson previously served as the Solicitor-General for Muscogee County.
• On January 14, 2014, Judge C. Michael Johnson became the third judge of the Superior Court of the Oconee Judicial Circuit.  Judge Johnson previously served as municipal court judge for the cities of Eastman and Chauncey.

• On March 25, 2014, Gov. Nathan Deal announced his selections for two open judgeships: Judge Suzanne Smith will fill the vacancy created by the retirement of Judge Shepherd Howell in the Cherokee Judicial Circuit. Judge Verda Colvin will fill the vacancy created by the retirement of Judge S. Phillip Brown in the Macon Circuit.

• Gov. Nathan Deal has named two juvenile court judges to the Child Welfare Council.  Judge Steven Teske, Clayton Judicial Circuit, andJudge Peggy Walker, Douglas Judicial Circuit, will serve on the newly created Council whose goal is to complete a comprehensive review of the Division of Family and Children Services and advise the governor on possible executive agency reforms and legislative fixes if necessary.


Contact AOC

Administrative Office of the Courts 244 Washington Street, SW Suite 300 Atlanta, GA  30334



Let us know what you think about the Georgia Courts Journal. Send your feedback, corrections, suggestions, and submissions to

Social Media

Follow the AOC on Facebook! Like us at today.

Receive Tweets from the AOC! Follow us at