• On July 8, 2013, Gov. Nathan Deal appointed three senior judges

• Judge Susan Forsling, State Court
• Judge Ken W. Smith, Juvenile Court
• Judge DeWitt Simonton, Probate Court

• Judge Peggy Walker, Juvenile Court, Douglas Judicial Circuit, was elected as president elect of National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges (NCJFCJ) on July 13, 2013 by the NCJFCJ Board of Trustees.  Judge Warner Kennon Sr., Juvenile Court, Chattahoochee Judicial Circuit, was elected to the Board of Trustees for NCJFCJ.
• Gov. Nathan Deal appointed Mr. Bradley L. Collins, District Attorney, Waycross Judicial Circuit, on July 26, 2013.
• On July 31, 2013, Gov. Nathan Deal administered the oath of the office to Judge Jeffrey B. Hanson, State Court of Bibb County.  The Georgia General Assembly created the open position earlier this year.
• On August 14, 2013, Judge Eric A. Robinson, State Court of Fulton County, was administered the oath of office by Gov. Nathan Deal.  Judge Robinson fills the vacancy created by the retirement of Judge Susan Forsling.
• Judge Christina S. Allen was appointed Associate Probate Judge of Berrien County on August 23, 2013.
• On October 9, Judge Darin McCoy, Probate Court of Evans County, was elected to serve as the Secretary-Treasurer of the Constitutional Officers Association of Georgia (COAG). Judge McCoy ( above, left) serves along with Mr. Tommy Tedders, Tax Commissioner of Bibb County, Vice President; Ms. Carolyn WIlliams, Superior Court Clerk of Pike County, President Elect; and Sheriff Mike Jolley, Harris County, President.

• Judge Wanda Davis was sworn-in as Chief Magistrate of Clayton County on October 25, 2013, to fill the unexpired term of Judge Daphne Walker who resigned (see Transitions).

• Judge William Fears, Superior Court, Towaliga Judicial Circuit, was appointed to the House of Representatives task force to study veterans courts.   The task force is charged with reviewing current state law and making recommendations for the upcoming legislative session starting January 2014.


Contact AOC

Administrative Office of the Courts 244 Washington Street, SW Suite 300 Atlanta, GA  30334

Pop Quiz

In 2002, Judge Ben Studdard competed on Jeopardy! Can you answer the Final Jeopardy question he couldn't?

Category: U.S. Stamps.

Clue: In late October, 2001, Tony Curtis and Lance Burton unveiled the new stamp honoring this person.

Find the answer on our Facebook and Twitter accounts: @GACourts!


Let us know what you think about the Georgia Courts Journal. Send your feedback, corrections, suggestions, and submissions to

Social Media

Follow the AOC on Facebook! Like us at today.

Receive Tweets from the AOC! Follow us at