• The Supreme Court of Georgia appointed three members of the Georgia Commission on Dispute Resolution on June 14, 2012.  Judge Charles Auslander, State Court of Clarke County, was appointed Chair; Dr. Timothy Hedden and Ms. Vjollca Prroni Young were appointed as non-attorney members.
• On September 27, 2012, Gov. Nathan Deal administered the oath of office to two superior court judges.

  • Judge William Hamrick, Superior Courts, Coweta Judicial Circuit, was appointed to the fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Judge William F. Lee, Jr.   Prior to his appointment, Judge Hamrick served as District 30 Representative in the Georgia General Assembly.
  • Judge Trent Brown, Superior Courts, Ocmulgee Judicial Circuit, was appointed to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Judge John Lee Parrott.   At the time of his appointment, Judge Brown served as judge of the State Court of Putnam County.

• On August 15, 2012, Gov. Deal announced the appointment of Ms. Jessica K. Moss as Solicitor-General for Cherokee County.  The vacancy was created by the resignation of Mr. David Cannon.
• Gov. Deal filled two state court vacancies created by recent deaths (see In Memoriam):  Judge Mark E. Mitchell, State Court of Thomas County, to succeed Judge Elliot P. McCollum, and Judge Violet Bennett, State Court of Wayne County, to succeed Judge Raymond S. Gordon.  Judge Mitchell and Judge Bennett were elected in July to succeed in their respective courts on January 1, 2013.  
• On October 2, 2012, Ms. L. Gale Buckner, Commissioner, Georgia’s Department of Juvenile Justice, was appointed Chief Magistrate of Murray County by the superior court judges in the Conasauga Judicial Circuit.  Judge Buckner fills the vacancy created by the resignation of Judge Bryant Cochran.


Contact AOC

Administrative Office of the Courts 244 Washington Street, SW Suite 300 Atlanta, GA  30334



Let us know what you think about the Georgia Courts Journal. Send your feedback, corrections, suggestions, and submissions to

Social Media

Follow the AOC on Facebook! Like us at today.

Receive Tweets from the AOC! Follow us at