• The Special Council of Criminal Justice Reform was reassembled on May 25 by Gov. Nathan Deal:

Judge Michael P. Boggs, Court of Appeals of Georgia
Mr. David R. Werner, Deputy Executive Counsel to Gov. Deal

Chief Justice Carol W. Hunstein, Supreme Court of Georgia
Judge Ural Glanville, Atlanta Judicial Circuit
Judge Todd Markle, Atlanta Judicial Circuit
Judge Jason Deal, Northeastern Judicial Circuit
Judge Steve Teske, Juvenile Court, Clayton Judicial Circuit
Mr. David McDade, District Attorney, Douglas
Mr. Daniel J. Porter, District Attorney, Gwinnett
Mr. Justo Cabral, Solicitor-General, Lowndes County
Rep. Wendell Willard, District 49
Rep. Mary Margaret Oliver, District 83
Rep. Stacey Abrams, District 84
Rep. Willie Talton, District 145
Rep. Jay Powell, District 171
Sen. John CrosbyDistrict 13
Sen. Ronald Ramsey, District 43
Ms. Linda Evans, Judicial Qualifications Commission
Mr. Ken Shigley, President, State Bar of Georgia
Mr. Scott Berry, Sheriff, Oconee County

• On June 7, Gov. Nathan Deal administered the oath of office to two superior court judges for the Enotah Judicial Circuit.  Judge N. Stan Gunter and Judge Raymond E. George were sworn-in at a ceremony at the Captiol in Atlanta.

altaltJudge Gunter (left) served as the Executive Director of the Prosecuting Attorneys’ Council since 2011 and served as the District Attorney for the Enotah Judicial Circuit. 

Judge George (right) was a sole law practitioner in Dahlonega and also served as the Chief Assistant District Attorney, Northeastern Judicial Circuit. 

• On June 7, Gov. Nathan Deal appointed Mr. Charles A. Spahos as Executive Director of the Prosecuting Attorneys Council.  Mr. Spahos has served as Henry County Solicitor-General since January of 2002.

• Gov. Nathan Deal announced the appointment of Ms. Katherine L. Peters as Solicitor-General of Coffee County on June 14.  Ms. Peters fills the vacancy that was created when Gov. Deal appointed Judge Jeff Kight as Superior Court Judge of the Waycross Judicial Circuit in April.

• Chief Justice George H. Carley and Gov. Deal recently made appointments to the nine-member Accountability Courts Funding Committee which is charged with with determining the funding priorities for alternative courts:

Judge Jack Partain, Superior Courts, Conasauga Judicial Circuit, co-chairman
Judge Jeffrey Bagley, Superior Court, Bell-Forsyth Judicial Circuit, co-chairman
Judge Horace J. Johnson, Superior Courts, Alcovy Judicial Circuit
Judge George F. Nunn, Superior Courts, Houston Judicial Circuit
Judge B. Chan Caudell, Superior Courts, Mountain Judicial Circuit
Judge Kathlene F. Gosselin, Superior Courts, Northeastern Judicial Circuit
Judge Tommy Day Wilcox, Jr., Senior Judge of the Superior Courts
Judge Charles Edward Auslander, III, State Court of Clarke County
Mr. Avery D. Niles, Warden, Hall County Correctional Institution

• On June 20, Gov. Deal announced the appointment of Mr. Matthew C. Krull as Solicitor-General of Douglas County, filling a vacancy created by the resignation of Mr. Brian Fortner.


Contact AOC

Administrative Office of the Courts 244 Washington Street, SW Suite 300 Atlanta, GA  30334

Pop Quiz

In 2002, Judge Ben Studdard competed on Jeopardy! Can you answer the Final Jeopardy question he couldn't?

Category: U.S. Stamps.

Clue: In late October, 2001, Tony Curtis and Lance Burton unveiled the new stamp honoring this person.

Find the answer on our Facebook and Twitter accounts: @GACourts!


Let us know what you think about the Georgia Courts Journal. Send your feedback, corrections, suggestions, and submissions to

Social Media

Follow the AOC on Facebook! Like us at today.

Receive Tweets from the AOC! Follow us at