Judge Don Wesley Thompson• On November 3, 2016, Gov. Nathan Deal administered the oath of office to Judge Don Wesley Thompson as Superior Court Judge of the Lookout Mountain Judicial Circuit.  Judge Thompson fills the vacancy created by the retirement of Judge Jon B. Wood.





Appellate Courts

• Three Justices of the Supreme Court of Georgia were sworn in on December 7, 2016. See story.


Judge Clyde ReeseJudge Clyde L. Reese, III, Court of Appeals of Georgia was administered the oath of office by Presiding Judge M. Yvette Miller on December 1, 2016. Judge Reese was appointed to fill the vacancy created by the retirement of Judge Herbert E. Phipps.






• Gov. Nathan Deal administered the oath of office to new Court of Appeals Judges on December 19, 2016, Judge Clyde L. Reese, III (who was sworn-in in a private ceremony on December 1), Judge Tilman (Tripp) Self, III, and Judge Charlie Bethel. Judge Self and Judge Bethel fill vacancies created by the elevation of Judge Michael Boggs and Judge Nels Peterson to the Supreme Court of Georgia.

Judge Clyde Reese







Judge Clyde L. Reese.

Judge Tripp Self

Judge Tilman (Tripp) Self.

Judge Charlie Bethel

Judge Charlie Bethel.

Contact AOC

Administrative Office of the Courts 244 Washington Street, SW Suite 300 Atlanta, GA  30334

Pop Quiz

In 2002, Judge Ben Studdard competed on Jeopardy! Can you answer the Final Jeopardy question he couldn't?

Category: U.S. Stamps.

Clue: In late October, 2001, Tony Curtis and Lance Burton unveiled the new stamp honoring this person.

Find the answer on our Facebook and Twitter accounts: @GACourts!


Let us know what you think about the Georgia Courts Journal. Send your feedback, corrections, suggestions, and submissions to

Social Media

Follow the AOC on Facebook! Like us at today.

Receive Tweets from the AOC! Follow us at