Judge Aaron MasonJudge Aaron B. Mason (left), Superior Court, Clayton Judicial Circuit, was sworn in by Gov. Nathan Deal on January 4, 2017. Judge Mason fills a seat created by the Georgia General Assembly in 2016.  Prior to his appointment to the superior court, Judge Mason served as a State Court Judge.  Judge Kathryn Powers was sworn-in on the same day to fill Judge Mason’s term on the State Court of Clayton County.

Gov. Nathan Deal administered the oath of office to Judge Ashley Wright, Superior Court, Augusta Judicial Circuit, on January 30, 2017. Judge Wright, who fills the vacancy created by the retirement of Judge David Roper, became the second woman to serve on the Augusta Superior Court bench. Prior to her appointment, Judge Wright served as District Attorney for the Augusta Judicial Circuit.

Judge Cynthia C. Adams, Superior Court, Douglas Judicial Circuit, was sworn-in by Gov. Nathan Deal on February 13, 2017 to fill the vacancy created by the retirement of Judge Robert James.  Judge Adams served as Judge Pro Tem of the Douglas County Juvenile Court and was a solo practitioner prior to her appointment.

On February 27, 2017, Gov. Nathan Deal administered the oath of office to Judge Paige Reese Whitaker, Superior Court, Atlanta Judicial Circuit.  Judge Reese, a deputy district attorney for Fulton County, fills the unexpired term of Judge Jerry W. Baxter.

Judge David L. Mincey, Superior Courts, Macon Judicial Circuit, was also sworn-in on February 27, 2017. Judge Mincey fills the vacancy created by the elevation of Judge Tilman “Tripp” Self to the Court of Appeals of Georgia.

Judge Jeffrey N. Osteen, State Court of Liberty County, was sworn-in by Gov. Nathan Deal on April 11, 2017. Judge Osteen previously served as Solicitor-General of Liberty County. He fills the vacancy created by the retirement of Judge Leon Braun.


Gov. Nathan Deal has appointed many senior judges since the beginning of the year:


Senior Judge of the Superior Courts

Judge Hugh V. Wingfield

Judge E.M. Wilkes

Judge Kenneth G. Vinson

Judge John R. Turner

Judge Matthew O. Simmons

Judge Wendy L. Shoob

Judge John C. Pridgen

Judge C. Dane Perkins

Judge Jack Partain

Judge George F. Nunn, Jr.

Judge Robert J. James

Judge Tommy Hankinson

Judge Adele P. Grubbs

Judge H. Gibbs Flanders, Jr.

Judge Roger W. Dunaway, Jr.

Judge Michael D. DeVane

Judge A. Wallace Cato

Judge Deborah C. Benefield

Judge T. Jackson Bedford

Judge Jerry W. Baxter

Judge J. Carlisle Overstreet

Judge David Roper

Judge James E. Cornwell


Senior Judge of the State Courts

Judge Leon Braun

Judge Melodie H. Clayton

Judge Sidney Esary

Judge Charles Wynne


Senior Judge of the Juvenile Courts

Judge Sara M. McArthur

Judge William Schneider


Senior Judge of the Probate Courts

Judge Susan W. Griner

Judge Harris Lewis

Judge Lee H. DeLoach

Judge Sam C. Davis


Contact AOC

Administrative Office of the Courts 244 Washington Street, SW Suite 300 Atlanta, GA  30334

Pop Quiz

In 2002, Judge Ben Studdard competed on Jeopardy! Can you answer the Final Jeopardy question he couldn't?

Category: U.S. Stamps.

Clue: In late October, 2001, Tony Curtis and Lance Burton unveiled the new stamp honoring this person.

Find the answer on our Facebook and Twitter accounts: @GACourts!


Let us know what you think about the Georgia Courts Journal. Send your feedback, corrections, suggestions, and submissions to

Social Media

Follow the AOC on Facebook! Like us at today.

Receive Tweets from the AOC! Follow us at