• Chief Justice Hugh P. Thompson, Supreme Court of Georgia, was named one of Georgia’s 100 Most Influential People by Georgia Trend Magazine in January 2014.
• On January 23, 2014, the Council of Superior Court Judges awarded two judges its top honor.  The Emory Findley Award was presented toJudge Cynthia Wright, Superior Court, Atlanta Judicial Circuit, and Senior Judge John Allen.
     The Emory Findley Award recognizes a judge who exhibits outstanding judicial service in all areas.  Judge Emory Findley, for whom the award is named, served as a superior court judge in the Eastern Judicial Circuit from 1977 to 1995.
• Chief Judge Joe Bishop, Superior Courts, Pataula Judicial Circuit, received the Distinguished Eagle Scout Award from the National Eagle Scouts Association on February 25, 2014.
• Judge Louisa Abbot, Superior Court, Eastern Judicial Circuit, was honored on March 7, 2014, by the Girls Scouts of Historic Georgia as one of its Women of Distinction.  
• Chief Judge Herbert E. Phipps, Court of Appeals, received the Nestor Award on March 19, 2014. The Nestor Award recognizes people who contribute to and preserve Georgia's legal history
• On March 25, 2014, Justice Carol W. Hunstein,Supreme Court of Georgia, was honored by the Anti-Defamation League with its Lifetime Achievement Award for her contributions to the judicial system and the community.


Contact AOC

Administrative Office of the Courts 244 Washington Street, SW Suite 300 Atlanta, GA  30334



Let us know what you think about the Georgia Courts Journal. Send your feedback, corrections, suggestions, and submissions to

Social Media

Follow the AOC on Facebook! Like us at today.

Receive Tweets from the AOC! Follow us at