alt• On August 23, 2012, the Georgia Commission on Women and the Georgia Women's Institute recognized Chief Justice Carol W. Hunstein, Supreme Court of Georgia, as its Woman of the Year.   The Chief Justice's son, Mr. Jon Abate, introduced her to the crowd assembled at the 103 West Restaurant in Atlanta, GA.   In 1996, former First Lady Rosalynn Carter was the first recipient. Other recipients include former Chief Justice Leah Ward Sears and US Poet Laureate Natasha Tretheway.
Judge Chase Daughtrey, Probate Court of Cook County, was named one of Georgia Trend's 40 under 40
alt • The Council of State Court Judges (CStCJ) awarded its Ogden Doremus/Kent Lawrence award to Judge Brenda Cole, State Court of Fulton County, at its October meeting in Lake Blackshear, GA.  Judge Cole was appointed to the state court bench in August 1998. She served as president of CStCJ from 2007-2008 and was a member of the Judicial Council from 2006-2008.  Judge Cole will retire on December 31, 2012.
• On October 23, 2012, Judge Ural Glanville, Superior Court, Atlanta Judicial Circuit, was promoted to Brigadier General in the Headquarters of the Combined Joint Interagency Task Force (CJIATF) 435 at Camp Phoenix, Afghanistan.  Judge Glanville was commissioned as a 2nd Lieutenant in the US Army in 1984 and has served in numerous command and staff positions.  He currently serves as commander, NATO Rule of Law Field Support Mission Afghanistan/Rule of Law Field Force-Afghanistan.   Judge Glanville was appointed to the superior court in 2004.

• The Council of Juvenile Court Judges awarded its Judge Aaron Cohn Award to Judge F. Bryant Henry, Juvenile Courts, Lookout Mountain Judicial Circuit.  The Aaron Cohn Award recognizes a Georgia Juvenile Court Judge who has made significant contributions to the Council and/or the field of juvenile justice and child welfare. 

• Judge Philip Taylor, Magistrate, Cobb County, earned a PhD in Judicial Studies from the University of Nevada, Reno.  Judge Taylor is the first judge in Georgia and only the eighth judge in the United States to earn this degree; he earned his Masters Degree through UNReno and completed two judicial development certificates from the National Judicial College.  Judge Taylor also serves as municipal court judge in Acworth, Kennesaw, and Powder Springs.


Contact AOC

Administrative Office of the Courts 244 Washington Street, SW Suite 300 Atlanta, GA  30334



Let us know what you think about the Georgia Courts Journal. Send your feedback, corrections, suggestions, and submissions to

Social Media

Follow the AOC on Facebook! Like us at today.

Receive Tweets from the AOC! Follow us at