alt• On April 30, 2012, Judge Barbara H. Caldwell, (left) Magistrate, Douglas County, was honored for her dedicated service to Douglas County. The county Commission praised her for her service on and off the bench.

• Judge Anne Elizabeth Barnes, Court of Appeals of Georgia, received the Romae T. Powell Judicial Service Award on May 4, 2012, from the Atlanta Bar Association. This award recognizes a judge who has made significant contributions to the judiciary.

• On May 7, 2012, Judge Britt Hammond, Juvenile Courts, Toombs Judicial Circuit, received the 2012 Mitchell Wendell Jurist Award at the 38th Annual Association of Administrators for the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children Conference in Orlando, Florida.

Presiding Justice George H. Carley was honored with the Logan E. Bleckley Award for Judicial Excellence on May 8, 2012, at the 2012 Bench and Bar Reception. Justice Carley was presented the Atlanta Bar Association award by former Justice Hardy Gregory Jr.

• During its annual meeting on May 9, 2012, the National Consortium on Racial and Ethnic Fairness in the Courts, elected Justice Robert Benham to serve on its Board of Directors. The Consortium addresses issues of fair and impartial treatment of racial and ethnic minorities in the federal and state courts.

Judge Berryl Anderson, Chief Magistrate, DeKalb County, received the Clarence Seeliger Local Justice Award from the Women’s Resource Center to End Domestic Violence. The Award is named after Judge Seeliger, Superior Court, Stone Mountain Judicial Circuit, for his work to end domestic violence.

• On May 23, 2012, the Atlanta Bar Association presented Judge Susan Eichler Edlein, State Court of Fulton County, with its Professionalism Award. The award was given during the ABA’s Annual Meeting and Awards Luncheon.

Ms. Jean H. Rogers, Clerk of the Superior Court, Crisp County, received the Stetson E. Bennett Superior Court Clerk of the Year award on May 23, 2012. Ms. Rogers was honored for her outstanding leadership and dedication to the citizens of Crisp County. 

• On June 19, 2012, the Atlanta Bar Association honored Presiding Justice Carol W. Hunstein, Supreme Court of Georgia, with its Outstanding Woman in the Profession Award

•  Judge Thomas C. Bobbitt, III, Municipal Court of Dublin, was presented with theJudge A. Frost Ward Achievement Award by the Council of Municipal Judges on June 21 at its annual conference in Jekyll Island, GA.

Contact AOC

Administrative Office of the Courts 244 Washington Street, SW Suite 300 Atlanta, GA  30334



Let us know what you think about the Georgia Courts Journal. Send your feedback, corrections, suggestions, and submissions to

Social Media

Follow the AOC on Facebook! Like us at today.

Receive Tweets from the AOC! Follow us at