alt• On January 5, 2012, Judge Daphne Walker,(right) Chief Magistrate, Clayton County, was honored with the Trumpet High Tea with High Heels award. This award by the Trumpet Foundation honors women who have broken barriers in their area of expertise.

• The Council of Superior Court Judges recognized Judge Perry Brannen Jr. with its inaugural J. Emory Findley Judge of the Year award. The award was presented on January 19, 2012, to Judge Brannen at the Council’s semi-annual training conference. The award is named for the late Judge J. Emory Findley, Superior Courts, Atlantic Judicial Circuit, who served from 1976-1994.

• The Bibb County Board of Commissioners unanimously approved a measure on February 7, 2012, to name the Bibb County Courthouse after Senior Judge J. Taylor Phillips. Judge Phillips served on the Bibb County bench from 1964 until his retirement in 1999.

• Judge Velma Tilley, Juvenile Courts, Cherokee Judicial Circuit, was honored by the Georgia Senate on February 10, 2012, for her honorable service, energy, and community service. Senate Resolution 784 praised Judge Tilley for her work as a juvenile court judge in Bartow County as well as her service on many state and national boards.

• Chief Judge Kathy S. Palmer, Superior Court, Middle Judicial Circuit, was awarded the Outstanding Service Award by the University of Georgia College of Family and Consumer Sciences on February 18, 2012. Judge Palmer was praised for her work judging high school mock trials, mentoring college students, preparing suppers at her church, and giving talks to civic and professional organizations.

• On April 4, 2012, Justice Robert Benham, Supreme Court of Georgia, received the Drum Major for Justice Award from the Southern Christian Leadership Conference and W.O.M.E.N., Inc. Justice Benham received his award at the 33rd annual Drum Major for Justice Awards Dinner in Atlanta. The award is given in commemoration of the assassination of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.


Contact AOC

Administrative Office of the Courts 244 Washington Street, SW Suite 300 Atlanta, GA  30334

Pop Quiz

In 2002, Judge Ben Studdard competed on Jeopardy! Can you answer the Final Jeopardy question he couldn't?

Category: U.S. Stamps.

Clue: In late October, 2001, Tony Curtis and Lance Burton unveiled the new stamp honoring this person.

Find the answer on our Facebook and Twitter accounts: @GACourts!


Let us know what you think about the Georgia Courts Journal. Send your feedback, corrections, suggestions, and submissions to

Social Media

Follow the AOC on Facebook! Like us at today.

Receive Tweets from the AOC! Follow us at