Judge Charles B. Mikell, Court of Appeals, was awarded the Freedom Award by the Savannah Chapter of the NAACP on October 8, 2011, for his legal work done on behalf of Savannah civil rights icon W.W. Law.
40 Under 40
Georgia Trend Magazine -- Two Georgia judges were recently hailed as among Georgia’s Best and Brightest 40 Under 40 by Georgia Trend Magazine.  Judge Dax Lopez, State Court of DeKalb County, was appointed in 2010 at the age of 34. Judge Lopez presides over the state’s only Spanish-speaking DUI court.
       Judge Daphne Walker, Chief Magistrate, Clayton County, was the first African-American elected as a judge in Clayton County. Judge Walker chairs the state-wide Judicial Council Task Force on Domestic Violence Courts.
University of Georgia MagazineJudge Keith Blackwell, Court of Appeals of Georgia, was recognized among the University of Georgia's first list of 40 Under 40 outstanding alumni.
175 or So Emory History Makers
Emory University named Judge Marvin S. Arrington, Superior Court, Atlanta Judicial Circuit, among the most notable 175 (or so) graduates.  Also making the list were  Judge Clarence Cooper, Senior Judge of the US Northern District Court and formerly of the Court of Appeals, and former Chief Justice Leah Ward Sears.

Council of Juvenile Court Judges
At its November 2011 conference, the Council of Juvenile Court Judges recognized two individuals for their significant contributions to the Council and/or the field of juvenile justice and child welfare.
Judge Cliff Jolliff, Juvenile Court of Northeastern Judicial Circuit, was awarded the 2011 Judge Aaron Cohn Award.
Ms. Irene Munn, Legislative Counsel to Lt. Governor Casey Cagle, was awarded the Judge Martha K. Glaze Award. The Glaze Award is given to a non-judicial person.

Georgia Council of Court Administrators
The Paulding County Pre-Trial Release Program won Program of the Year at the October 24-26, 20011 meeting of the Georgia Council of Court Administrators.  For more information, see District News.

Gate City Bar Legacy Awards
The Juidicial Section of the Gate City Bar Association presented its Legacy Awards on December 7, 2011. Judicial awardees included:

Presiding Judge M. Yvette Miller, Court of Appeals, received the Justie Robert Beham Legacy Award;
Judge Horace J. Johnson Jr., Superior Courts, Alcovy Judicial Circuit, received the Clarence Cooper Legacy Award;
Judge Michael E. Hancock, Superior Court, Stone Mountain Judicial Circuit, received the Judge Horace T. Ward Legacy Award.

Office on Violence Against Women Grant
The Administrative Office of the Courts has been awarded $341,054 from the US Department of Justice's Office on Violence Against Women.  The funds will allow for development and implementation of two model domestic violence courts in the Clayton Judicial Circuit and the Lookout Mountain Judicial Circuit.


Contact AOC

Administrative Office of the Courts 244 Washington Street, SW Suite 300 Atlanta, GA  30334

Pop Quiz

In 2002, Judge Ben Studdard competed on Jeopardy! Can you answer the Final Jeopardy question he couldn't?

Category: U.S. Stamps.

Clue: In late October, 2001, Tony Curtis and Lance Burton unveiled the new stamp honoring this person.

Find the answer on our Facebook and Twitter accounts: @GACourts!


Let us know what you think about the Georgia Courts Journal. Send your feedback, corrections, suggestions, and submissions to

Social Media

Follow the AOC on Facebook! Like us at today.

Receive Tweets from the AOC! Follow us at