Awards - August 2017

Judge John CarboOn May 18, 2017, the Council of State Court Judges recognized Senior Judge John Carbo, at left, with its Ogden Doremus/Kent Lawrence Award.

Council of Municipal Court Judges Awards:

Chief Judge David Mecklin, Municipal Court of Bremen, received the Frost Ward Lifetime Achievement Award, which recognizes a municipal court judge who has made significant contributions to the Council of Municipal Court Judges over a long period of time. 

The Council’s President’s Award was awarded to Justice Michael Boggs, Supreme Court of Georgia, for his work championing Criminal Justice Reform; Chief Judge Charles Barrett, Municipal Court of Duluth, and Judge Thomas Bobbitt III, Municipal Courts of Jeffersonville and Soperton, were recognized for their legislative work for 2017; Chief Judge Margaret Washburn, Municipal Court of Sugar Hill;  Ms. Vicki Judd, Assistant General Counsel, Department of Driver Services; Mr. James Rodatus, JC/AOC; and Ms. LaShawn Murphy, JC/AOC, were recognized with Outstanding Service Awards.

Judge Terry Wheeler, Municipal Courts of Aragon and Kingston, was awarded the Special Recognition Award for his innovation, creativity, and conscientious efforts of ensuring his court is fair and impartial. The Council’s 2017 Legislative Award was presented to Representative Scott Hilton, sponsor of HB 370, for diligent and unwavering support of the Council in the General Assembly.

Judge Glen Ashman, Municipal Court of East Point, was recognized as the inaugural recipient of the Council’s Education Award which will be known as the Glen Ashman Education Award.


Contact AOC

Administrative Office of the Courts 244 Washington Street, SW Suite 300 Atlanta, GA  30334



Let us know what you think about the Georgia Courts Journal. Send your feedback, corrections, suggestions, and submissions to

Social Media

Follow the AOC on Facebook! Like us at today.

Receive Tweets from the AOC! Follow us at