District News

First District
Administrative Judge: Judge John E. Morse, Jr.
District Court Administrator: Danny DeLoach
Circuits: Atlantic, Brunswick, Eastern, Ogeechee, Waycross

Judge Louisa Abbot will become President-Elect in June. Judge John E. Morse, Jr. was elected to fill the position of Administrative Judge for the First District.

Second District
Administrative Judge: Judge Ronnie Joe Lane
District Court Administrator: David Mixon
Circuits:  Alapaha, Dougherty, Pataula, South Georgia, Southern, Tifton

Mr. David Mixon was hired as the new District Court Administrator.  Mr. Mixon replaces Mr. John Cowart who retired in 2011.

Judge Harry Jay Altman has been elected to become the Administrative Judge beginning July 1, 2012.

Third District
Administrative Judge: Judge J. Phillip Brown
District Court Administrator: Joe Baden
Circuits:  Chattahoochee, Houston, Macon, Southwestern

altMr. Joe Baden was hired as the new District Court Administrator.

Mr. Baden graduated from Georgia College with a Bachelor's degree in Psychology and Criminal Justice and a Master's degree in Psychology. Since joining the Department of Corrections in 1986, he has continued his education with the Certified Public Manager Program and Management Training. He also served as an adjunct instructor at both Macon State College and Fort Valley State University.

Baden's 25 year career in criminal justice has included a wide range of duties in the Department of Corrections and the Department of Juvenile Justice. In 2008 he became the Statewide Manager of Day Reporting and Transitional Centers. Most recently he served as Warden of Calhoun State Prison in Morgan, GA.

He began his duties as District Court Administrator for the Third Judicial Administrative District on December 1, 2011.  Joe and his wife Jennifer reside in Macon, GA.

Sixth District
Administrative Judge: Judge Arch McGarity
District Court Administrator: Will Simmons
Circuits:  Clayton, Coweta, Griffin, Flint, Towaliga

Carroll County Judicial Center
On March 13, 2012, the $17 million, 127,000 sq.ft. Carroll County Judicial Center opened its doors in Carrollton, GA.  The five-story tall building stands directly behind the historic courthouse and its annex, which will be torn down to make way for a two-story foyer.
     Pictures of the Judicial Center can be viewed here.

Tenth District
Administrative Judge: Judge Lawton E. Stephens
District Court Administrator: Tracy J. BeMent
Circuits:  Alcovy, Augusta, Northern, Piedmont, Toombs, Western

Judge J. Carlisle Overstreet has been elected to become the Administrative Judge beginning July 1, 2012.

Wilkes County Courthouse Renovation/Addition
altThe superior court courtroom in the Historic Wilkes County Courthouse is undergoing renovation and is expected to be completed this spring.


Contact AOC

Administrative Office of the Courts 244 Washington Street, SW Suite 300 Atlanta, GA  30334

Pop Quiz

In 2002, Judge Ben Studdard competed on Jeopardy! Can you answer the Final Jeopardy question he couldn't?

Category: U.S. Stamps.

Clue: In late October, 2001, Tony Curtis and Lance Burton unveiled the new stamp honoring this person.

Find the answer on our Facebook and Twitter accounts: @GACourts!


Let us know what you think about the Georgia Courts Journal. Send your feedback, corrections, suggestions, and submissions to Information@georgiacourts.gov

Social Media

Follow the AOC on Facebook! Like us at www.facebook.com/GACourts today.

Receive Tweets from the AOC! Follow us at twitter.com/GACourts.