Five Judges Honored with Benham Community Service Awards

The 14th Annual Justice Robert Benham Awards for Community Service recipients were recently honored at the Georgia Bar Center on February 26, 2013.  The awards, named for Justice Robert Benham of the Supreme Court of Georgia, honor lawyers and judges who have made outstanding contributions in the area of community service.
In 1997, the Executive Committee of the State Bar of Georgia created the annual award to recognize the volunteerism among Georgia’s lawyers, to encourage all lawyers to become involved in serving their communities, to improve the quality of life of lawyers through the satisfaction they receive from helping others, and to raise the public image of lawyers.
Each year, recipients are chosen from each of the state’s 10 judicial districts. Lawyers and judges are eligible if they have combined their professional career with outstanding service and dedication to their communities through voluntary participation in community organizations, government-sponsored activities, or humanitarian work outside of their professional practice.
This year, half of the recipients of the Justice Robert Benham Awards for Community Service are judges.
Chief Judge Joe C. Bishop (District 2), Superior Courts, Pataula Judicial Circuit, is a tireless supporter of the Boy Scouts of America serving various roles including Troop Leader (Troop 414), Executive Board Member of the Southwest Georgia Boy Scouts, and coach to students in preparation for the American Legion Oratorical Contest.
Judge Asha F. Jackson (District 4), Superior Court, Stone Mountain Judicial Circuit, has chaired both the National Advisory Board of Forever Family, Inc., and the Community Service Section Committee of the Atlanta Bar Association’s Women in the Profession Section.
Judge Kimberly M. Esmond Adams (District 5), Superior Court, Atlanta Judicial Circuit, frequently serves as a speaker and panelist for programs throughout the metro-Atlanta area, mentors law student interns, and is involved in a number of charitable boards and organizations.
Judge Robert M. “Mack” Crawford (District 6), Superior Courts, Griffin Judicial Circuit, chairs the Pike County High School FFA (Future Farmers of America) Advisory Council and is a graduate of Leadership Georgia.
Judge Mazi Mazloom (District 7), Municipal Court of Marietta, serves as president-elect of the Cobb County Bar Association, is a mentor for the Marietta Housing Authority’s At-Risk Kids Mentoring Program, and is involved in many other outreach programs in Cobb County.
Other recipients included Mr. J. Michael Cranford, Macon; Mr. Peter Anderson, Atlanta; Ms. Audra A. Dial, Atlanta; Mr. Dexter M. Wimbish, Madison; Mr. Peter A. Gleichman, Woodstock; and Ms. Laura C. Nehf, Athens.  The 2013 Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Mr. David H. Gambrell of Atlanta.


Contact AOC

Administrative Office of the Courts 244 Washington Street, SW Suite 300 Atlanta, GA  30334



Let us know what you think about the Georgia Courts Journal. Send your feedback, corrections, suggestions, and submissions to

Social Media

Follow the AOC on Facebook! Like us at today.

Receive Tweets from the AOC! Follow us at