With hundreds of years of judicial experience between them, one appellate, five superior, and five state court judges retired on December 31, 2012.
Court of Appeals
Judge A. Harris Adams, Court of Appeals, was elevated to the Court of Appeals by Gov. Roy Barnes from the State Court of Cobb County bench, a position he held for 17 years. 
Superior Courts
Chief Judge Frank C. Mills, III, Blue Ridge Judicial Circuit, was appointed February 9, 1981, by Gov. George Busbee. 
Cobb Judicial Circuit Judge Dorothy Robinson took office in 1981 after winning election.  She was appointed to the State Court of Cobb County in 1972. 
Chief Judge Allen Keeble, Coweta Judicial Circuit, was elected in 1987 as superior court judge. Prior to his election, he also served on the State Court of Troup County and the Juvenile Court of Troup County.
Gwinnet Judicial Circuit Chief Judge K. Dawson Jackson was appointed December 1, 1982 by Gov. George Busbee.  Prior to his appointment to the superior court, Judge Dawson served on the State Court of Gwinnett County. 
Judge Sidney L. Nation, Rockdale Judicial Circuit, took office in 1993 after winning election.  Judge Nation served as judge of the State Court, Magistrate Court, and Municipal Court of Conyers prior to his election as superior court judge.
State Courts
Chief Judge CJ Gober, State Court of Cherokee County, retired after serving the State court since 1984.  Prior to serving on the State Court bench, Judge Gober served as juvenile court judge in the Blue Ridge Judicial Circuit. 
Judge Roland R. Castellanos, State Court of Cobb County, did not seek re-election for this position.  His term ended on December 31, 2012.
Judge Brenda Cole, State Court of Fulton County, was appointed in 1998 by Gov. Zell Miller.
Glynn County State Court Judge Orion Douglass retired after serving 20 years.  He was elected to the position in 1993.
Chief Judge Robert W. Mock, Sr., State Court of Gwinnett County, was appointed by Gov. Zell Miller in September 1991.
Judge Russ Barnes, State Court of Sumter County, resigned on November 29, 2012.


Contact AOC

Administrative Office of the Courts 244 Washington Street, SW Suite 300 Atlanta, GA  30334



Let us know what you think about the Georgia Courts Journal. Send your feedback, corrections, suggestions, and submissions to

Social Media

Follow the AOC on Facebook! Like us at today.

Receive Tweets from the AOC! Follow us at