• Judge Amanda F. Williams, Superior Court, Brunswick Judicial Circuit, resigned effective January 2, 2012.

• Judge Harold G. Benefield, State Court of Clayton County, retired on February 1, 2012. He was appointed by Gov. Deal as a senior judge of the state court on February 13, 2012.

• On February 15, 2012, Judge Marvin S. Arrington Sr. retired from the Superior Court, Atlanta Judicial Circuit. Judge Arrington was appointed by Gov. Roy Barnes on January 22, 2002.

• Judge Isaac “Buddy” Jolles, Probate Court of Richmond County, retired on February 22, 2012. Judge Jolles was elected in 1998.

• On February 29, 2012, Judge David E. Barrett, Superior Court, Enotah Judicial Circuit, retired.

· Judge Lynn Akeley-Alderman, Superior Court, Enotah Judicial Circuit, resigned from the bench on March 30, 2012.


Contact AOC

Administrative Office of the Courts 244 Washington Street, SW Suite 300 Atlanta, GA  30334

Pop Quiz

In 2002, Judge Ben Studdard competed on Jeopardy! Can you answer the Final Jeopardy question he couldn't?

Category: U.S. Stamps.

Clue: In late October, 2001, Tony Curtis and Lance Burton unveiled the new stamp honoring this person.

Find the answer on our Facebook and Twitter accounts: @GACourts!


Let us know what you think about the Georgia Courts Journal. Send your feedback, corrections, suggestions, and submissions to

Social Media

Follow the AOC on Facebook! Like us at today.

Receive Tweets from the AOC! Follow us at