Superior Court Judges
Judge Linton K. Crawford, Superior Court, Mountain Judicial Circuit, retired on October 31, 2011.
Judge J. Stanley Smith, Superior Courts, Dublin Judicial Circuit, retired on November 30, 2011.
On December 31, 2011, the following judges will retire:
Chief Judge Perry Brannen, Eastern Judicial Circuit
Chief Judge Martha C. Christian, Macon Judicial Circuit

Judge Robert B. Adams, Superior Court, Conasauga Judicial Circuit, will retire effectiveJanuary 31, 2012.

Judge Michael Hancock, Stone Mountain Judicial Circuit, will retire effectiveJanuary 31, 2012.
State Court Judges
Judge Kent Lawrence, State Court of Clarke County retired November 30, 2011.  He has assumed senior status.
Judge Judd Drake, State Court of Candler County, resigned on September 28, 2011.


Contact AOC

Administrative Office of the Courts 244 Washington Street, SW Suite 300 Atlanta, GA  30334

Pop Quiz

In 2002, Judge Ben Studdard competed on Jeopardy! Can you answer the Final Jeopardy question he couldn't?

Category: U.S. Stamps.

Clue: In late October, 2001, Tony Curtis and Lance Burton unveiled the new stamp honoring this person.

Find the answer on our Facebook and Twitter accounts: @GACourts!


Let us know what you think about the Georgia Courts Journal. Send your feedback, corrections, suggestions, and submissions to

Social Media

Follow the AOC on Facebook! Like us at today.

Receive Tweets from the AOC! Follow us at