• Judge Leslie Spornberger Jones resigned as Judge of the Municipal Court of Athens-Clarke County on November 30, 2016.


• On December 31, 2016, the following judges are set to retire

Supreme Court

Chief Justice Hugh P. Thompson


Superior Court

Judge Carson Dane Perkins, Sr., Alapaha Circuit

Judge Jerry W. Baxter, Atlanta Circuit

Judge T. Jackson Bedford, Jr., Atlanta Circuit

Judge Wendy Lee Shoob, Atlanta Circuit

Judge Bensonetta Tipton Lane, Atlanta Circuit

Judge J. Carlisle Overstreet, Augusta Circuit

Judge E.M. Wilkes, III, Brunswick Circuit

Judge Matthew O. Simmons, Clayton Circuit

Judge Deborah Benefield, Clayton Circuit

Judge Adele P. Grubbs, Cobb Circuit

Judge Jack Partain, Conasauga Circuit

Judge John C. Prigden, Cordele Circuit

Judge Robert J. James, Douglas Circuit

Judge H. Gibbs Flanders, Jr., Dublin Circuit

Judge George F. Nunn, Jr., Houston Circuit

Judge Hugh Wingfield, III, Ocmulgee Circuit

Judge John R. Turner, Ogeechee Circuit

Judge A. Wallace Cato, South Georgia Circuit

Judge George M. Peagler, Jr., Southwestern Circuit

Judge Roger W. Dunaway, Jr., Toombs Circuit

Judge Michael D. DeVane, Waycross Circuit


State Court

Judge William R. Folsom, Brooks County

Judge Jack E. Carney, Jr., Bryan County

Judge Melodie H. Clayton, Cobb County

Judge Irma Glover, Cobb County

Judge Kathryn J. Tanskley, Cobb County

Judge George C. Floyd, Decatur County

Judge Charles S. Wynne, Hall County

Judge Sidney R. Esary, Spalding County


Probate Court

Judge Betty Thomas, Banks County

Judge Johnnie E. Crews, Brantley County

Judge Lee H. DeLoach, Bulloch County

Judge Harris Lewis, Chatham County

Judge G. Russell (Rusty) Wright, Crisp County

Judge John Wheaton, Lee County

Judge Marie H. Middleton, Long County

Judge Terri Adams McDowell, Lowndes County

Judge Mack S. McCarthy, Macon County

Judge Teresa K. Jennings, McIntosh County

Judge Henry A. Baker, Newton County

Judge Beverly W. Nation, Oglethorpe County

Judge Deborah W. Hunnicutt, Peach County

Judge Linda E. Jackson, Randolph County

Judge Charles Mays, Rockdale County

Judge Amos John Sheffield, Seminole County

Judge Judy Reeves, Sumter County


Magistrate Court

Judge June Davis, Barrow County

Judge Thomas E. Moseley, Bartow County

Judge Joyce Miskiel, Brooks County

Judge Annemarie Fussell, Coffee County

Judge Scott Hinson, Effingham County

Judge Sherri L. Walker, Fannin County

Judge Timothy Barton, Glynn County

Judge Ricky L. Slivers, Gordon County

Judge Kenneth G. Jackson, Jasper County

Judge Marie H. Middleton, Long County

Judge Linda S. Rodgers, Macon County

Judge Teresa K. Jennings, McIntosh County

Judge Henry A. Baker, Newton County

Judge Linda F. Palumbo, Randolph County

Judge Danny Bentley, Upson County


Contact AOC

Administrative Office of the Courts 244 Washington Street, SW Suite 300 Atlanta, GA  30334



Let us know what you think about the Georgia Courts Journal. Send your feedback, corrections, suggestions, and submissions to

Social Media

Follow the AOC on Facebook! Like us at today.

Receive Tweets from the AOC! Follow us at