altThe Georgia Commission on Family Violence (GCFV) honored Judge Peggy Walker (at left with Jennifer Thomas, GCFV Executive Director), Douglas County Juvenile Court, with the 2015 “Gender Justice Award” during the commission’s annual family violence conference which was held September 27 -30. The Gender Justice Award is presented to leaders in social justice who work for the betterment of women in Georgia
Judge Mark Anthony Scott, Superior Court, Stone Mountain Judicial Circuit, has been recognized as a The Top Dog Alumni by the Fresno State Alumni Association. The Top Dog Alumni Gala, held on October 9, honors alumni for accomplishments in their fields and commitment to service in the community. Judge Scott is a 1980 alumni of California State University, Fresno.

altThe Council of State Court Judges awarded its annual Ogden Doremus/Kent Lawrence Award to Judge Charles Wynne, State Court of Hall County, at its October meeting in Jekyll Island. Judge Wynne (center, with Judge Kent Lawrence and Judge Wayne Purdom) took office on January 1, 2001, after being elected to office. He served as President of the Council of State Court Judges from 2014-2015 and served on the Judicial Council from 2013-2015.

Justice Harold Melton was honored with the Daily Report's Rising Luminary Award in the September 16 edition of the paper.  In 2003, the Daily Report named Justice Melton to its second "On the Rise" class. Read more here.

Contact AOC

Administrative Office of the Courts 244 Washington Street, SW Suite 300 Atlanta, GA  30334

Pop Quiz

In 2002, Judge Ben Studdard competed on Jeopardy! Can you answer the Final Jeopardy question he couldn't?

Category: U.S. Stamps.

Clue: In late October, 2001, Tony Curtis and Lance Burton unveiled the new stamp honoring this person.

Find the answer on our Facebook and Twitter accounts: @GACourts!


Let us know what you think about the Georgia Courts Journal. Send your feedback, corrections, suggestions, and submissions to

Social Media

Follow the AOC on Facebook! Like us at today.

Receive Tweets from the AOC! Follow us at