• The Council of Magistrate Court Judges recognized several of its members during its meeting on May 18 in Athens, GA:
Magistrate Judge of the Year: Judge Patricia Barron, Clarke County, and Judge Alan Harvey, DeKalb County
Workhorse of the Year: Judge Kristina Hammer Blum, Gwinnett County
Humanitarian of the Year: Judge Glenda Dowling, Pierce County
Lifetime Achievement Award: Senior Judge David Wood, DeKalb County

• On June 19, Chief Judge Herbert E. Phipps, Court of Appeals, was awarded the 2015 Chief Justice Thomas O. Marshall Professionalism Award from the State Bar of Georgia. EArlier in the monthe, Judge Phipps received the  2015 Randolph Thrower Lifetime Achievement Award by the state bar’s Committee to Promote Inclusion in the Profession.

• The Council of Municipal Court Judges recognized several of its members during its meeting on June 25 in Jekyll Island, GA.

Frost Ward Lifetime Achievement Award: Judge Charles Barrett, Duluth
President's Award: Judge James Tillman Payne, Acworth, and Department of Driver Services
Special Recognition Awards:
     Judge Leslie Spornberger Jones, Athens-Clarke County
     Judge Donald Shaefer, Jones Creek
     Judge Vernita Lee Bender, Valdosta

• On August 11, 2015, the Gate City Bar announced that Judge Alford A. Dempsey, Superior Court, Atlanta Judicial Circuit, was among four of its 2015 Hall of Fame inductees. Judge Dempsey has served on the Fulton County bench since 1995 where he helped implement a Family Division.

Contact AOC

Administrative Office of the Courts 244 Washington Street, SW Suite 300 Atlanta, GA  30334



Let us know what you think about the Georgia Courts Journal. Send your feedback, corrections, suggestions, and submissions to

Social Media

Follow the AOC on Facebook! Like us at today.

Receive Tweets from the AOC! Follow us at