Judge Robert Leonard, Superior Court, Cobb Judicial Circuit, was recognized by the Daily Report in its annual Rising Stars supplement. 
The Georgia Council of Court Administrators presented Tom Gunnels, retired superior court administrator, with the William Barclay Herndon Lifetime Award at its annual meeting September. 
The Georgia Association for Women Lawyers bestowed the “Hon. Debra Bernes Community Volunteer Award” to Chief Judge Adele Grubbs, Superior Court, Cobb Judicial Circuit at its Annual Atlanta Judicial Luncheon on October 1.
Judge LeRoy Burke, Juvenile Court, Eastern Judicial Circuit, received the St. Thomas More Award on October 10 during the annual Red Mass. The St. Thomas More Award is given to a lawyer or judge who best exemplifies the ideals of service to church and community. The Red Mass is held annually for judges, attorney, law school professors, students, and government officials.
The Atlanta Bar Association recognized Judge Cynthia Wright, Superior Court, Atlanta Judicial Circuit, on October 17 with its Public Service Award.  Judge Wright has served as a superior court judge for the past 20 years. During her time on the Atlanta bench, she has worked to create the Family Court Division, expanded its Drug Court, established a Veterans Court, and launched a Parental Accountability Court. Judge Wright served four years as Chief Judge of the Circuit and led a task force of the superior and state court judges in Fulton County to increase efficiency and public access.
altThe Georgia Legal Services Program honored 10 lawyers, judges and citizen advocates at its annual Champions of Justice event on Oct. 7, hosted by Alston & Bird. Among the recipients were former Justice Hardy Gregory and current Justice Carol W. Hunstein (left). Justice Hunstein was recognized for promoting funding for civil legal services and engaging more lawyers in pro bono work.

The Council of State Court Judges (CStCJ) awarded its Ogden Doremus/Kent Lawrence award to Judge Linda Cowen, State Court of Clayton County, at its October meeting in Lake Blackshear, GA.  Judge Cowen was appointed to the state court bench in August 1998. She served as president of CStCJ from 2013-2014 and was a member of the Judicial Council from 2012-2014.

altOn October 23, the Applachian Circuit Family Law Information Clinic and Chief Judge Brenda Weaver were awarded the William B. Spann, Jr. Award by the State Bar of Georgia Access to Justice Committee. The Spann Award is given each year to a local bar association, law firm, or community organization in Georgia that has developed a civil pro bono program that has satisfied previously unmet legal needs or extended services to underserved segments of the population.

Contact AOC

Administrative Office of the Courts 244 Washington Street, SW Suite 300 Atlanta, GA  30334



Let us know what you think about the Georgia Courts Journal. Send your feedback, corrections, suggestions, and submissions to

Social Media

Follow the AOC on Facebook! Like us at today.

Receive Tweets from the AOC! Follow us at