Judicial Council Honors Retiring Magistrate Judges

When Judge Sidney Baxter retired in February, he had been a judge for 45 years.  Judge Alec Glenn Dorsey, slated to retire in July, will have had 35 years on the job.
On May 5, 2014, Judge Baxter and Judge Dorsey were recognized by the Judicial Council of Georgia for their years of service to their counties, the state, and the judicial community by Chief Justice Hugh P. Thompson and AOC Director Marla S. Moore during the Council of Magistrate Court Judge’s spring conference at Lake Lanier.
altJudge Baxter (at left) was first elected as Justice of the Peace for Whitfield County in 1964 and served in that capacity until 1976; in 1980, he was elected Magistrate.  Judge Baxter retired on February 15 as the longest-serving Magistrate in Georgia.
altJudge Dorsey (at right) also began his career as a Justice of the Peace in Wilcox County.  He was elected in 1979, serving as a Justice of the Peace until the creation of the Magistrate Court System.  Judge Dorsey has served as Secretary of the Council of Magistrate Court Judges since 1982 and will retire on July 1.

Contact AOC

Administrative Office of the Courts 244 Washington Street, SW Suite 300 Atlanta, GA  30334



Let us know what you think about the Georgia Courts Journal. Send your feedback, corrections, suggestions, and submissions to Information@georgiacourts.gov

Social Media

Follow the AOC on Facebook! Like us at www.facebook.com/GACourts today.

Receive Tweets from the AOC! Follow us at twitter.com/GACourts.