Three Justices Join the Supreme Court of Georgia

On December 7, 2016, Gov. Nathan Deal administered the oath of office to Justice Michael Boggs, Justice Nels Peterson, and Justice Britt Grant.  Justice Boggs fills the vacancy created by the retirement of Chief Justice Hugh P. Thompson.  Justice Peterson and Justice Grant fill two new slots created by the Georgia General Assembly. All three justices will begin work on January 1, 2017.

View the ceremony at


The House Chambers at the State Capitol.

Chief Justice Thompson and Gov. Deal

Chief Justice Thompson speaks to Gov. Nathan Deal

Members of the Supreme Court

Justice Keith Blackwell, Justice David Nahmias, Justice Harold Melton, and Presiding Justice P. Harris Hines.

Steve Castlen and Judge Clyde Reese

Steve Castlen, Clerk and Administrator of the Court of Appeals, speaks to Judge Clyde Reese, who joined the Court of Appeals on December 1.

Judge John J. Ellington

Judge John J. Ellington, Court of Appeals, greets a guest as former Chief Justice George H. Carley waits for the ceremony to begin.

Members of the Supreme Court

Justices greet a guest.

Gov. Nathan Deal begins the ceremony

Gov. Nathan Deal begins the historic ceremony.

Justice Michael Boggs

Justice Michael Boggs speaks after his swearing in.

Justice Nels Peterson

Justice Nels Peterson being sworn-in by the Governor.

Justice Britt Grant

Justice Britt Grant being sworn-in by the Governor.

New Justices

Gov. Deal presents gavel plaques made by prisoners to the new justices.

Justice Boggs and Family

Justice Boggs and his family.

Justice Peterson and Family

Justice Peterson and his family.

Justice Grant and Family

Justice Grant and her family.

The Newest Members Join the Current Court

The Supreme Court poses with its newest members and the Governor.

Contact AOC

Administrative Office of the Courts 244 Washington Street, SW Suite 300 Atlanta, GA  30334

Pop Quiz

In 2002, Judge Ben Studdard competed on Jeopardy! Can you answer the Final Jeopardy question he couldn't?

Category: U.S. Stamps.

Clue: In late October, 2001, Tony Curtis and Lance Burton unveiled the new stamp honoring this person.

Find the answer on our Facebook and Twitter accounts: @GACourts!


Let us know what you think about the Georgia Courts Journal. Send your feedback, corrections, suggestions, and submissions to

Social Media

Follow the AOC on Facebook! Like us at today.

Receive Tweets from the AOC! Follow us at