August 2017

Promoting Accessibility and Transparency in the Courts

Promoting Access PanelFollowing the August 9 Judicial Council meeting, a panel discussion on "Promoting Public Access and Transparency in Georgia’s Judicial Branch #Engage" was held. Chief Judge Stephen Dillard, Court of Appeals; Judge Jason B. Thompson, State Court of Fayette County; and Chief Judge W. Allen Wigington, Magistrate Court of Pickens County, comprised the panel.

Mid Year Video Recap

Mid year video recap of the Judicial Council activities for 2017.



Sonny Seiler Recalls First Judicial Council

Mr. Sonny Seiler, an original member of the 1973 Judicial Council, recounted his time on the Council at the April 2017 Judicial Council meeting. Mr. Seiler also owns a certain mascot for the University of Georgia.



New Leadership for Court Councils

Council of Superior Court Judges

Judge Kathy S. Palmer

Judge Stephen Kelley

Council of State Court Judges

Judge H. Gregory Fowler

Judge Nancy Bills

Council of Juvenile Court Judges
Judge James R. Whitfield

Judge Philip Spivey

Council of Probate Court Judges

Judge Rooney Bowen, III


Judge Sarah Harris



Contact AOC

Administrative Office of the Courts 244 Washington Street, SW Suite 300 Atlanta, GA  30334

Pop Quiz

Can you name the Georgia judge who officiates college football games?
Find the answer on our Facebook and Twitter accounts: @GACourts!


Let us know what you think about the Georgia Courts Journal. Send your feedback, corrections, suggestions, and submissions to

Social Media

Follow the AOC on Facebook! Like us at today.

Receive Tweets from the AOC! Follow us at