December 2016


• Judge Leslie Spornberger Jones resigned as Judge of the Municipal Court of Athens-Clarke County on November 30, 2016.


• On December 31, 2016, the following judges are set to retire

Supreme Court

Chief Justice Hugh P. Thompson


Superior Court

Judge Carson Dane Perkins, Sr., Alapaha Circuit

Judge Jerry W. Baxter, Atlanta Circuit

FY2016 Annual Report Available

FY2016 Annual ReportThe FY2016 Judicial Council/Administrative Office of the Courts Annual Report is now available. Download the report here.

How Georgia Courts Celebrated Adoption Day - November 19

National Adoption Day has been in place for three years now and this year the date fell on November 19, 2016.  The day is a collective national effort to raise awareness of the children in foster care waiting to find permanent, loving families. A coalition of national partners – Dave Thomas Foundation for Adoption, Congressional Coalition on Adoption Institute, The Alliance for Children’s Rights and Children’s Action Network – sponsor National Adoption Day.



First All Female Panel Hears Case on Court of Appeals

When Division One heard oral arguments in the Court of Appeals Courtroom on Tuesday, December 6, history was made.  Presiding Judge Anne Elizabeth Barnes (center), Judge Carla Wong McMillian and Judge Amanda Mercier comprised the first all female panel in the Court's 110-year history. 

First all female panel


Contact AOC

Administrative Office of the Courts 244 Washington Street, SW Suite 300 Atlanta, GA  30334

Pop Quiz

In 2002, Judge Ben Studdard competed on Jeopardy! Can you answer the Final Jeopardy question he couldn't?

Category: U.S. Stamps.

Clue: In late October, 2001, Tony Curtis and Lance Burton unveiled the new stamp honoring this person.

Find the answer on our Facebook and Twitter accounts: @GACourts!


Let us know what you think about the Georgia Courts Journal. Send your feedback, corrections, suggestions, and submissions to

Social Media

Follow the AOC on Facebook! Like us at today.

Receive Tweets from the AOC! Follow us at