July 2013


Judge Andrew Mickle, Atlanta Municipal Court, retired on June 19, 2013 after a 31-year career on that bench.  Judge Mickle was appointed in 1982 by then-Mayor Maynard Jackson.  Mickle serves as an adjunct professor of law at Georgia State University.
Judge Susan B. Forsling, State Court of Fulton County, retired on July 1, 2013.  Judge Forsling was appointed to the Fulton bench in 1997 by Gov. Zell Miller; she will assume senior status.



Judge William W. Rambo, State Court of Sumter County, was sworn-in by Gov. Nathan Deal on April 19, 2013.  Judge Rambo fills the vacancy created by the resignation of Judge Russ Barnes in November 2012.
• The Supreme Court of Georgia appointed Chief Judge Brenda S. Weaver, Superior Court, Appalachian Judicial Circuit, to the Judicial Qualifications Commission on April 10, 2013, to serve a four-year term.


In Memoriam

Ms. Rhonda Payne, Clerk, Superior Court of Douglas County, died on March 17. Ms. Payne was appointed as Superior Court Clerk in 2007. She was subsequently elected twice to the position.
Senior Judge H. Lamar Knight of Carrollton died on May 27, 2013.  Judge Knight was elected as superior court judge in the Coweta Judicial Circuit in 1960, a position he held until his retirement in 1981.   Judge Knight served in the US Navy during World War II, after which he earned a law degree from the University of Georgia in 1949.


July 2013


Contact AOC

Administrative Office of the Courts 244 Washington Street, SW Suite 300 Atlanta, GA  30334

Pop Quiz

In 2002, Judge Ben Studdard competed on Jeopardy! Can you answer the Final Jeopardy question he couldn't?

Category: U.S. Stamps.

Clue: In late October, 2001, Tony Curtis and Lance Burton unveiled the new stamp honoring this person.

Find the answer on our Facebook and Twitter accounts: @GACourts!


Let us know what you think about the Georgia Courts Journal. Send your feedback, corrections, suggestions, and submissions to Information@georgiacourts.gov

Social Media

Follow the AOC on Facebook! Like us at www.facebook.com/GACourts today.

Receive Tweets from the AOC! Follow us at twitter.com/GACourts.