June 2012


• The Special Council of Criminal Justice Reform was reassembled on May 25 by Gov. Nathan Deal:

Judge Michael P. Boggs, Court of Appeals of Georgia
Mr. David R. Werner, Deputy Executive Counsel to Gov. Deal


Busy Legislative Session Yields Changes for Judiciary

The 2012 Georgia General Assembly met from January 9 to March 29.  Each year, the AOC monitors legislation affecting the Georgia judiciary.   Below is a sampling of legislation that passed.   A full report on this year’s enacted legislation can be found at http://bit.ly/K0e9Ec.
HB 1176 Criminal Justice Reform Act


Immigration and the State Courts Initiative Update

Dr. John Martin and Dr. Steven Weller from the Center for Public Policy Studies traveled to Savannah on May 31, 2012, to present an update of the Immigration and the State Courts Initiative to the Judicial Council of Georgia.



• On May 1, 2012, Judge William F. Lee Jr., Superior Courts, Coweta Judicial Circuit, retired.

• Judge Lawrence M. Ford, Chief Magistrate of Rabun County, retired on May 16, 2012.

• On May 19, 2012, Judge John Lee Parrott, Superior Courts, Ocmulgee Judicial Circuit, retired.

• US Magistrate Judge Christopher Hagy, US District Court, Northern District of Georgia, retired on May 31, 2012. 



Contact AOC

Administrative Office of the Courts 244 Washington Street, SW Suite 300 Atlanta, GA  30334

Pop Quiz

In 2002, Judge Ben Studdard competed on Jeopardy! Can you answer the Final Jeopardy question he couldn't?

Category: U.S. Stamps.

Clue: In late October, 2001, Tony Curtis and Lance Burton unveiled the new stamp honoring this person.

Find the answer on our Facebook and Twitter accounts: @GACourts!


Let us know what you think about the Georgia Courts Journal. Send your feedback, corrections, suggestions, and submissions to Information@georgiacourts.gov

Social Media

Follow the AOC on Facebook! Like us at www.facebook.com/GACourts today.

Receive Tweets from the AOC! Follow us at twitter.com/GACourts.