May 2016

New Director for the Office of Dispute Resolution

The Georgia Supreme Court Commission on Dispute Resolution has named Tracy Johnson as the Executive Director for the Georgia Office of Dispute Resolution. Ms. Johnson is well-known in the Alternative Dispute Resolution community as she is a registered mediator and previously served for 17 years as the Director for the 6th District ADR Program. Since December 2013, Ms. Johnson has served as Director of the Fulton County Superior Court Family Division. Ms.

Judicial Council April 29, 2016 Actions

The Judicial Council met on Friday, April 29, 2016, at the Georgia Public Safety Training Center in Forsyth, GA. Chief Justice Hugh Thompson convened the meeting at 1:00 p.m. This policy-making body heard reports from every class of court and various Council committees.

Talking to Georgia’s Judges: Judge Alice Padgett

Tell us about where you grew up.


How did you become a Judge?


What made you decide to become a Probate Judge?

2016 Enacted Legislation

The 2016 Regular Session of the 153rd Georgia General Assembly convened on January 11, 2016, and adjourned Sine Die on March 24, 2016. During the 40-day legislative session, the legislature passed bills to address a variety of issues, including a number of bills that impact the state’s judicial branch. During the 2016 Session, the General Assembly passed four Judicial Council-supported bills: HB 691, SB 255, SB 262 and SB 64.



Contact AOC

Administrative Office of the Courts 244 Washington Street, SW Suite 300 Atlanta, GA  30334

Pop Quiz

In 2002, Judge Ben Studdard competed on Jeopardy! Can you answer the Final Jeopardy question he couldn't?

Category: U.S. Stamps.

Clue: In late October, 2001, Tony Curtis and Lance Burton unveiled the new stamp honoring this person.

Find the answer on our Facebook and Twitter accounts: @GACourts!


Let us know what you think about the Georgia Courts Journal. Send your feedback, corrections, suggestions, and submissions to

Social Media

Follow the AOC on Facebook! Like us at today.

Receive Tweets from the AOC! Follow us at