November 2012

Athens Intensive Supervision Program wins GCCA Program of the Year Award

The Georgia Council of Court Administrators awarded the 2012 Program on the Year Award at its fall meeting in Savannah, GA, to the Athens-Clarke County Probation’s Intensive Supervision Program.


In Memoriam

Senior Judge Roy M. Lilly of Thomasville died on June 29, 2012.  Judge Lilly was appointed to the superior court bench in the Southern Judicial Circuit in 1979. Upon his retirement in 1994, he assumed senior status.  Judge Lilly graduated from Mercer Law School in 1936 and served in the US Navy during World War II.



• On July 1, 2012, Judge Joyce Jones, Probate Court of Polk County, retired from her post of 21 years.   Judge Jones was succeeded by Judge Linda H. Smith.
Judge John F. Salter, State Court of Dougherty County, retired on September 1, 2012.  Upon his retirement, Judge Victoria Darrisaw was appointed to fill the position through the end of the year.  Judge Darrisaw won the election to replace Judge Salter and would have taken office in January.



• The Supreme Court of Georgia appointed three members of the Georgia Commission on Dispute Resolution on June 14, 2012.  Judge Charles Auslander, State Court of Clarke County, was appointed Chair; Dr. Timothy Hedden and Ms. Vjollca Prroni Young were appointed as non-attorney members.
• On September 27, 2012, Gov. Nathan Deal administered the oath of office to two superior court judges.



Contact AOC

Administrative Office of the Courts 244 Washington Street, SW Suite 300 Atlanta, GA  30334

Pop Quiz

In 2002, Judge Ben Studdard competed on Jeopardy! Can you answer the Final Jeopardy question he couldn't?

Category: U.S. Stamps.

Clue: In late October, 2001, Tony Curtis and Lance Burton unveiled the new stamp honoring this person.

Find the answer on our Facebook and Twitter accounts: @GACourts!


Let us know what you think about the Georgia Courts Journal. Send your feedback, corrections, suggestions, and submissions to

Social Media

Follow the AOC on Facebook! Like us at today.

Receive Tweets from the AOC! Follow us at