October 2013

New Chief Justice, Presiding Justice Sworn-in to lead Supreme Court

A standing-room only crowd filled the House Chambers on August 15, 2013, to see the investiture of Georgia’s new Chief Justice Hugh P. Thompson and Presiding Justice P. Harris Hines.
Chief Justice Carol W. Hunstein welcomed the assembly of Justices of the Supreme Court, members of the Courts of Appeals, trial court judges throughout the state, legislators, friends, and family. 


Jurors and Social Media

"A jury of one's peers" may not include the jurors' Facebook friends


Judicial Council Recommends Two New Superior Court Judgeships

The Judicial Council met at the Loudermilk Center in Atlanta on September 13, 2013.  Chief Justice Hugh P. Thompson called the meeting to order after the Georgia Boy Choir, conducted by Mr. David R. White, sang two verses of “The Star Spangled Banner.”



Fulton County Juvenile Court home to 3 Child Welfare Law Specialist

Fulton County, home to almost 10% of Georgia’s total population, is the only county in the state to have three Juvenile Court Judges who are also certified Child Welfare Law Specialists (CWLS).  All three earned their certifications in 2012.  Judge Cassandra Kirk, Judge Willie J. Lovett, Jr., and Judge Wenona Clark Belton represent state and individual efforts to raise the knowledge bar in our state’s child welfare arena.



Contact AOC

Administrative Office of the Courts 244 Washington Street, SW Suite 300 Atlanta, GA  30334

Pop Quiz

In 2002, Judge Ben Studdard competed on Jeopardy! Can you answer the Final Jeopardy question he couldn't?

Category: U.S. Stamps.

Clue: In late October, 2001, Tony Curtis and Lance Burton unveiled the new stamp honoring this person.

Find the answer on our Facebook and Twitter accounts: @GACourts!


Let us know what you think about the Georgia Courts Journal. Send your feedback, corrections, suggestions, and submissions to Information@georgiacourts.gov

Social Media

Follow the AOC on Facebook! Like us at www.facebook.com/GACourts today.

Receive Tweets from the AOC! Follow us at twitter.com/GACourts.