February/March 2019

Judge Shana B. Vinyard, Magistrate Court of Whitfield County, notified Governor Kemp of her resignation on February 13, 2019, effective May 1, 2019. 

Transitions - September 2018

Transitions - August 2018

Judge Alford Dempsey• Judge Alford Dempsey, Jr, Superior Court, Atlanta Judicial Circuit, retired on June 1, 2018. Judge Dempsey was appointed by Gov. Zell Miller in 1995; he assumed senior status upon his retirement.

Transitions - April 2018

• Judge Elizabeth Branch was confirmed by the US Senate to a post of the Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals on February 27, 2018.  Judge Branch was appointed to the Court of Appeals of Georgia in 2012.


Contact AOC

Administrative Office of the Courts 244 Washington Street, SW Suite 300 Atlanta, GA  30334

Pop Quiz

In 2002, Judge Ben Studdard competed on Jeopardy! Can you answer the Final Jeopardy question he couldn't?

Category: U.S. Stamps.

Clue: In late October, 2001, Tony Curtis and Lance Burton unveiled the new stamp honoring this person.

Find the answer on our Facebook and Twitter accounts: @GACourts!


Let us know what you think about the Georgia Courts Journal. Send your feedback, corrections, suggestions, and submissions to

Social Media

Follow the AOC on Facebook! Like us at today.

Receive Tweets from the AOC! Follow us at