Judge Sidney Baxter, Magistrate Court of Whitfield County, retired on February 15, 2014, after 42 years of service. He served as Justice of the Peace from 1972 until the creation of the magistrate court system in 1983. Judge Baxter has the distinction of begin the longest serving Magistrate Judge in the state.
David McDade, District Attorney, Douglas Judicial Circuit, resigned April 30. Brian K. Fortner will act as interim District Attorney until the November election determines his successor.
Judge Alec Glenn Dorsey, Magistrate Court of Wilcox County, will retire on July 1, 2014. Judge Dorsey was appointed Justice of the Peace in 1979; in 1982, he was elected as Chief Magistrate and has served in that capacity since.  Judge Dorsey has served as Secretary of the Council of Magistrate Court Judges since 1982.
Judge Roy Braswell of Wheeler County has announced his retirement effective July 31, 2014. Judge Braswell has served as Chief Magistrate and Probate Judge of Wheeler County for the past 21 years.
Mr. Tom Gunnels, Superior Court Administrator, Augusta Judicial Circuit, will retire August 31.  Mr. Gunnels served as both Superior Court Administrator and District Court Administrator for the 10th Judicial District until his retirement as a DCA in 2009, a position he served since 1979.

Contact AOC

Administrative Office of the Courts 244 Washington Street, SW Suite 300 Atlanta, GA  30334

Pop Quiz

In 2002, Judge Ben Studdard competed on Jeopardy! Can you answer the Final Jeopardy question he couldn't?

Category: U.S. Stamps.

Clue: In late October, 2001, Tony Curtis and Lance Burton unveiled the new stamp honoring this person.

Find the answer on our Facebook and Twitter accounts: @GACourts!


Let us know what you think about the Georgia Courts Journal. Send your feedback, corrections, suggestions, and submissions to

Social Media

Follow the AOC on Facebook! Like us at today.

Receive Tweets from the AOC! Follow us at